top of page
Virtual Tour (Edit4).jpg



Stage 5 of the curriculum encompasses Years 9 and 10.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) dictates the program of studies for all students in New South Wales schools in Years 7 - 10.

At this stage of the curriculum electives are introduced, giving students more ownership of their studies.

At the end of Stage 5, the College will submit a grade to NESA for each of the completed mandatory and elective courses. If a student leaves school before the completion of the Higher School Certificate, the Record of School Achievement (RoSA) can be requested from NESA and it will include these submitted grades.


In Years 9 and 10 mandatory studies are:

  • English

  • Mathematics

  • Science

  • Religious Education

  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education and Australian History (PDHPE)

  • Geography

  • History


Elective studies include:

  • Aboriginal Studies

  • Commerce

  • Drama

  • Design and Technology

  • Food Technology

  • Foundations Class (Literacy and Numeracy support)

  • History

  • Geography

  • Information Software and Technology

  • Italian

  • Japanese

  • Music

  • Photographic and Digital Media

  • Philosophy (Talented Students)

  • Textile Technology

  • Visual Arts


Students may also access the NSW School of Languages and the Saturday School of Community Languages to study a language not already offered by the College.

Stage 5 elective subjects are chosen in Years 9 and 10 and are year-long courses.

More information can be found in the Stage 5 Course Book, (pdf on right).


bottom of page