Stage 6 of the curriculum encompasses Years 11 and 12.

This stage of the curriculum is divided into the Preliminary (Year 11) and HSC (Year 12) years. It ultimately leads to students receiving the NSW Higher School Certificate.

Students in Year 11 are required to study a minimum of 12 units while students in Year 12 must study a minimum of 10 units. At St Scholastica's College, two units of English and at least one unit of Studies of Religion are compulsory.

Students in Years 11 and 12 can choose from the following subjects:


  • Ancient History

  • Biology

  • Business Studies

  • Chemistry

  • Design and Technology

  • Drama

  • Earth and Environmental Science

  • Economics

  • English Advanced

  • English as a Second Language

  • English Extension 1 and 2

  • English Standard

  • Food Technology

  • Fundamentals of English

  • General Mathematics

  • Geography

  • History Extension

  • Hospitality

  • Information Processes and Technology

  • Italian Beginners/Continuers

  • Japanese Beginners and Continuers

  • Legal Studies

  • Mathematics

  • Mathematics Extension 1 and 2

  • Modern History

  • Music Course 1 and 2

  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

  • Physics

  • Society and Culture

  • Studies of Religion

  • Textiles and Design

  • Visual Arts


Students can also access The NSW School of Languages and the Saturday School of Community Languages to study a language not already offered by the College.

More information can be found in the Stage 6 Senior Course Book, (pdf on right).



Good Samaritan Education

Good Samaritan Education (GSE) is responsible for ten incorporated colleges in Australia. Established in 2011 by the Sisters of the Good Samaritan, the mission of GSE is to sustain and nurture our Catholic schools as Good Samaritan Benedictine communities of learning.

Sisters of the Good Samaritan

St Scholastica's College
4 Avenue Road,
Glebe NSW 2037 Australia

CRICOS Provider 03337F




Privacy Policy


© St Scholastica’s 2019

Past Students

Parent Partnership

Are you a past student?

We would love to hear from you

Support our girls through our Parent Partnership

Term Dates

Our quick link to all our important dates for the year

Contact Us

+61 2 9660 2622
or email

St Scholastica's College community acknowledges the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, the First Peoples and Traditional Custodians of the Country upon which the College stands. We pay our respect to Elders past, present and emerging and to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in our community.